What are the 7 chakras of the body and their Meanings ?

On the topic of Yoga or its postures, you may or may not had faced the term “Chakra” and their being affected by some yoga postures. Chakra means Wheel/Sphere in Sanskrit and it is mentioned in many Yogic and esoteric text like Kundalini Yoga Upanishad and in many faiths like Jainism, Buddhism and Hinduism. These sources describe that there are two types of body that every sentient being have, one is Material Body and another is the spiritual body.

7 chakras in human body

Yogic Chakras resides in the Spiritual body as the spheres of vast energies. Due to various reasons, these spheres are not activated properly and hence these energies can’t be properly accessed by every being. Yogis or Practitioner of yoga who attained a good level in yogic activities succeed to remove those blockages in spheres and hence gain many abilities with the help of these Chakras. However, I believe these chakras if activated then boost the senses (Ear, Nose, Eye, Mouth and Skin) of body and hence strengthen them.

Following are the brief on every yogic chakra and their abilities and some yoga positions to remove impurities from them:

Root (Muladhara)

This chakra is in the position at the end of the spine or more specific near the anus. Its element is earth and it basically deals the aspect of survival and it usually gets barred by all kind of fears. For the nourishment of this chakra, yogis must meditate on his fear and let them roll down by his will and mind. Yoga for Root Chakra: Tree posture.

Sacral (Svadhishthana)

Sacral Chakra’s element is water. This chakra resides at the location of your reproductive organs. Therefore it gets affected by lust or guilt. Due to its impurity, you will feel uneven on an emotional level and rude for yourself. For the removal of blockage of sacral chakra, the practitioner must realize the truth of guilts of his life and accept its inevitability. Yoga for Sacral Chakra: Goddess Posture.

Naval (Manipura)

This chakra location is in the middle of stomach. Its element is Fire. It manages willpower and normally obstructed by shame. Therefore it is beneficiary for the practitioner to relieve your heart of all shame that you had felt for your actions. Don’t blame yourself. Yoga for Naval Chakra: Boat Posture.

Heart (Anahata)

This chakra location is in the center of the heart, hence gaining its name. Heart chakra deals with the aspect of life and gets blocked by griefs of your actions. For the better flow of Heart chakra, one must not grieve for your lost.
Yoga for Heart Chakra: Eagle pose.

Throat (Vishuddha)

Throat chakra element is the Aether/Space due to its associativity with voice, it can be easily blocked due to inner and outer lies. A yogi must not tell lies to others and most important to himself. Yoga for Throat Chakra: Fish Pose.

Third Eye (Ajna)

Third Eye chakra is also known as Lord Shiva chakra due to its abilities. Its element is light and it deals with insight or perception. Its reason for blockage is illusions. There are several kinds of illusions in a human life but a superior one in discrimination. Diminish all kind of discrimination and you can enhance this chakra ability.Yoga pose for Third Eye Chakra: Child’s pose, Meditation.

Crown (Sahasrara)

Its Sanskrit name literally means a thousand petal lotus which actually a signification of the supreme one. It deals with pure cosmic energy or life energy (Prana), and its reason for blockage is the earthly attachment. The practitioner must realize that all attachments are mortal in this world and then leave them. Yoga Pose for Crown Chakra: Seated Meditation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.